Diesel locomotives

Kö (nach 1945)

In 1925, the Deutsche Reichsbahn initially bought a few experimental small locomotives. These locomotives had internal combustion engines, which were later to replace steam traction. After the tests had been positive, the Reichsbahn classified further procurement into two performance groups starting in 1931:
– Power group I: Locomotives up to 39 hp and max. 30 km/h speed. They were intended for switching operations in small stations under simple conditions
– Power group II: Locomotives from 40 – 150 hp. They were intended to enable trained personnel to carry out shunting tasks in one-man operation
The letter K was introduced to identify the locomotives, followed by an index for the type of engine used: b (benzene) for gasoline engines and ö (oil) for diesel engines. For locomotives with a liquid gearbox, the letter “f” was added. On the German Federal Railways they were known as class 311 or 321-324 from 1968 and on the German Reichsbahn as class 100 in 1970.

The Kö 3504 was a plant locomotive that entered service at Chemische Werke Albert in the mid-1950s and was given the number 35-04 there after the company was taken over by Hoechst AG. In 1983, the locomotive was taken out of service and donated to the vehicle collection of our museum.

Technical specifications

MANUFACTURER

Gmeinder & Co. GmbH, Mosbach/Baden

YEAR OF CONSTRUCTION

1956

WITHDRAWAL FROM SERVICE

1983

MAX. SPEED

12 km/h

IMPELLET

4 Zylinder Dieselmotor, 8 l Hubraum

POWER

37 kW (50 PS)

WEIGHT

11 t

Axle Arrangement

You can find out more in our knowledge database.

Click to go there.

AXLE ARRANGEMENT

B

Picture gallery

Gender notice

For better reading, the masculine form is used for personal names and personal nouns on this website. Corresponding terms apply in principle to all genders for the purpose of equal treatment. The abbreviated form of language is for editorial reasons only and does not imply any valuation.

Newsletter Anmeldung bestätigen

Sie erhalten in Kürze eine E-Mail an die von Ihnen angegebene E-Mail-Adresse. Bitte bestätigen Sie Ihre Newsletteranmeldung über den darin enthaltenen Link.

Diesellok

Kö (nach 1945)

Im Jahre 1925 beschaffte die Deutsche Reichsbahn zunächst einige Versuchs-Kleinlokomotiven. Diese Lokomotiven hatten Verbrennungsmotoren, die später die Dampftraktion ablösen sollte. Nachdem die Tests positiv verlaufen waren, teilte die Reichsbahn ab 1931 die weitere Beschaffung in zwei Leistungsgruppen ein:
– Leistungsgruppe I: Lokomotiven bis 39 PS und max. 30 km/h Geschwindigkeit. Sie waren vorgesehen für Rangiereinsätze auf kleinen Bahnhöfen unter einfachen Bedingungen
– Leistungsgruppe II: Lokomotiven von 40 – 150 PS. Mit ihnen sollte geschultes Personal Rangieraufgaben in Einmannbedienung erledigen können
Zur Bezeichnung der Lokomotiven der Buchstabe K eingeführt, diesem folgte ein Index für den verwendete Antriebsart: b (Benzol) für Benzinmotor und ö (Öl) für Dieselmotor. Bei Lokomotiven mit einem Flüssigkeitsgetriebe wurde noch der Buchstabe „f“ angehängt. Bei der Deutschen Bundesbahn wurden sie ab 1968 als Baureihe 311 bzw. 321-324 geführt und bei der Deutschen Reichsbahn 1970 als Baureihe 100.

Die Kö 3504 ist eine Werklok, die Mitte der 50er Jahre bei Chemische Werke Albert eingesetzt war und dort nach der Übernahme des Werkes durch die Hoechst AG die Nummer 35-04 erhielt. 1983 wurde die Lok ausgemustert und der Fahrzeugsammlung unseres Museums gestiftet.

 

Technische Daten

HERSTELLER

Gmeinder & Co. GmbH, Mosbach/Baden

BAUJAHR

1956

AUSMUSTERUNG

1983

HÖCHSTGESCHWINDIGKEIT

12 km/h

ANTRIEB

4 Zylinder Dieselmotor, 8 l Hubraum

LEISTUNG

37 kW (50 PS)

GEWICHT

11 t

Achsformel

Mehr erfahren Sie in unserer Wissensdatenbank.

Klicken Sie, um dorthin zu wechseln.

ACHSFORMEL

B

Bildergalerie

Gender-Hinweis

Aus Gründen der besseren Lesbarkeit wird bei personenbezogenen Hauptwörtern auf dieser Webseite die männliche Form verwendet. Entsprechende Begriffe gelten im Sinne der Gleichbehandlung grundsätzlich für alle Geschlechter. Die verkürzte Sprachform hat nur redaktionelle Gründe und beinhaltet keine Wertung.

Newsletter Anmeldung bestätigen

Sie erhalten in Kürze eine E-Mail an die von Ihnen angegebene E-Mail-Adresse. Bitte bestätigen Sie Ihre Newsletteranmeldung über den darin enthaltenen Link.