Electric locomotives

E 16

The Bavarian Group Administration carried out a large electrification programme around Munich in the 1920s. In the course of this programme, electric locomotives were procured for express train services from 1926. These were equipped with four traction motors and a single-axle drive (system “Buchli”) instead of the previously common rod drive. The locomotives were used around Munich. From the mid-1960s, the locomotives were used in subordinate services.

Our locomotive was built in 1927 and came to the Deutsche Reichsbahn and then to the Bundesbahn as E16 08. In 1968 it was renumbered 116 008-4 and was withdrawn from service in 1978. After it was taken out of service, it was intended for the collection of the Nuremberg Transport Museum. In 1988, we received the locomotive as a permanent lending to look after it and to supplement our own collection.

Technical specifications

MANUFACTURER

Locomotivfabrik Krauss & Comp., München, BBC, Baden (CH)

YEAR OF CONSTRUCTION

1927

WITHDRAWAL FROM SERVICE

1978

MAX. SPEED

120 km/h

IMPELLET

4 Elektromotoren

POWER

2020 kW (2750 PS)

WEIGHT

110 t

Axle Arrangement

You can find out more in our knowledge database.

Click to go there.

AXLE ARRANGEMENT

1’Do1′

Picture gallery

Gender notice

For better reading, the masculine form is used for personal names and personal nouns on this website. Corresponding terms apply in principle to all genders for the purpose of equal treatment. The abbreviated form of language is for editorial reasons only and does not imply any valuation.

Newsletter Anmeldung bestätigen

Sie erhalten in Kürze eine E-Mail an die von Ihnen angegebene E-Mail-Adresse. Bitte bestätigen Sie Ihre Newsletteranmeldung über den darin enthaltenen Link.

E-Lok

E 16

Die Gruppenverwaltung Bayern führte in der 20er Jahren ein großes Elektrifizierungsprogramm rund um München durch. Im Zuge dieses Programms wurden ab 1926 Elektrolokomotiven für den Schnellzugverkehr beschafft. Diese wurden mit vier Fahrmotoren und einem Einzelachsantrieb nach System „Buchli“ anstatt des bisher üblichen Stangenantriebs ausgerüstet. Eingesetzt wurden die Lokomotiven um München. Ab Mitte der 1960er Jahre wurden die Lokomotiven in untergeordneten Diensten eingesetzt.

Unsere Lokomotive wurde 1927 gebaut und kam als E16 08 zur Deutschen Reichsbahn und dann zur Bundesbahn. 1968 wurde sie umgezeichnet in 116 008-4. Im Jahre 1978 wurde sie ausgemustert. Nach der Ausmusterung war sie für die Sammlung des Verkehrsmuseums Nürnberg vorgesehen. 1988 erhielten wir die Lok als Dauerleihgabe zur Betreuung und zur Ergänzung der eigenen Sammlung.

Technische Daten

HERSTELLER

Locomotivfabrik Krauss & Comp., München, BBC, Baden (CH)

BAUJAHR

1927

AUSMUSTERUNG

1978

HÖCHSTGESCHWINDIGKEIT

120 km/h

ANTRIEB

4 Elektromotoren

LEISTUNG

2020 kW (2750 PS)

GEWICHT

110 t

Achsformel

Mehr erfahren Sie in unserer Wissensdatenbank.

Klicken Sie, um dorthin zu wechseln.

ACHSFORMEL

1’Do1′

Bildergalerie

Gender-Hinweis

Aus Gründen der besseren Lesbarkeit wird bei personenbezogenen Hauptwörtern auf dieser Webseite die männliche Form verwendet. Entsprechende Begriffe gelten im Sinne der Gleichbehandlung grundsätzlich für alle Geschlechter. Die verkürzte Sprachform hat nur redaktionelle Gründe und beinhaltet keine Wertung.

Newsletter Anmeldung bestätigen

Sie erhalten in Kürze eine E-Mail an die von Ihnen angegebene E-Mail-Adresse. Bitte bestätigen Sie Ihre Newsletteranmeldung über den darin enthaltenen Link.